Books Like Serpent Essex

Books Like Serpent Essex

Designed by Michael Stilwell

Adapting a bestselling book into a movie or TV show could easily turn out to be a success or failure, but Apple TV+ seems to have made it into a bestselling Sarah Perry novel. Essex snake in series. Set in Victorian England, the Gothic story follows London’s widow Cora Seaborn (played by Claire Dance) who moves to Essex to investigate reports of a legendary snake. There, the protagonist meets the village priest, Will Ransom (played by Tom Hiddleston), and the two find themselves romantically involved. But when tragedy strikes, things take a turn, and locals accuse Cora of attracting the sea creature.

If you have read Berry’s book Already or have started watching the new series, and love the plot and characters, you have come to the right place. With summer just around the corner, there’s never a better time to load up on flip-flops for beach reading. Here, the best gothic books to sink your teeth into if you can’t get enough of them Essex snake.

Watch ESSEX SERPENT on APPLE TV +

Announcement – Continue reading below

1

After me comes the flood: a novel

Members Essex snake They will also love Berry’s first novel, The flood comes after me. The story follows John Cole, a London bookstore owner, who finds himself in a dilapidated house after his car breaks down on the side of an isolated road. As he approaches, a laughing woman he has never met before addresses him by his name and reveals that she has been waiting for him. Entering the house, John meets a mysterious group of residents, all of whom also claim to know who he is and have been waiting for his arrival.

Also by Berry, Melmouth Loosely based on the Gothic book of 1820 Melmoth itinerant Irish playwright Charles Maturin. In Perry’s version, Helen Franklin – an English translator living in Prague – is given a manuscript describing encounters with the Melmouth Witness, a mysterious black-clothed woman doomed to roam the land, witnessing atrocities in humanity, after seeing and denying Christ’s resurrection. As the story progresses, Helen begins to realize that Melmouth has been stalking her and is forced, literally, to confront her own demons.

3

The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock: A Novel

Thorndike Press Large Print

The bookworm won’t get enough of Imogen Hermes Guar’s historical novel about Jonah Hancock – a prosperous merchant in London in the 1780s – whose life is turned upside down when he unexpectedly meets a dead mermaid. Soon, Hancock finds himself in high society and meets Angelica Neal, a famous prostitute with whom he forms an unconventional romance. But as the plot intensifies, the two encounter major obstacles in their love story, possibly due to the power of the mermaid.

4

Miniature: a novel

Jesse Burton’s 2015 novel based on a true story is sure to fill in your gaps asics snakeAn oversized hole in the summer reading list. It is located in Amsterdam in the seventeenth century, vignette It follows 18-year-old Nella Ortmann whose world is turned upside down after her estranged new husband, Johannes Brandt, presents her with a replica of her closet-sized house. When Nella brings the gift – with the help of a miniature painter – she begins to reveal extraordinary secrets about her husband’s family and the dangers that lie ahead.

5

Fantastic Creatures: A Novel

If you appreciate the paleontology aspect of Essex snakeyou will love wonderful creatures. Set in 19th century England, Tracey Chevalier’s novel is based on real-life events and people, and tells the story of an uneducated Mary Anning who discovers an unusual fossilized skeleton, much to the dismay of the scientific community. When she befriends middle-class Elizabeth Philpott, who has a passion of her own for fossils, the two form an unlikely bond and face a series of obstacles, including sexism in a male-dominated society and deeply held religious beliefs about extinction.

from the same author vignetteAnd Moses Jumping back and forth between 1930s Spain and 1960s London, he revolves around an unusual painting that appears in a gallery. Throughout the story, Trinidadian Odelle Bastien, a writer working on said gallery, sets herself on a mission to learn more about the piece of art and delve into the mystery of where it came from, who painted it, and what ultimately happened to him.

7

Once Upon a River: A Novel

Atria Books / Emily Bestler

Once upon a river Another great read if you are a fan Essex snake. On a dark winter’s night near the Thames, a wounded man was reeling in an old inn with an unresponsive girl in his arms. Only later the girl suddenly comes back to life, but is silent, prompting the locals to try to solve the mystery of who she belongs to. But when three families come forward to announce she’s their daughter, things get complicated and their private secrets begin to unravel.

8

The Silent Companions: A Novel

It is located in Victorian England, Silent Companions It follows pregnant and newly widowed Elsie Bainbridge as she attempts to navigate her life on her late husband’s dilapidated estate. But while exploring the house, she finds an old diary and a silent companion, a painted wooden figure very similar to her. Although the estate’s residents are terrified by this number, Elsie is determined to learn more about her origins, and along the way, learns a series of shocking family secrets.

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and is imported into this page to help users provide their email address. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io

Announcement – Continue reading below

.